Danish gems

After 12 months and 9 assignments, I have finally completed my home studies course in Art History {insert standing ovation here, followed by moving thank you speech}

Going through the notes for my final assignment, I decided to do a bit of recycling and use them for Nice Day for a Sulk. Times are hard after all, it’s green to reuse!

The brief was very broad, hence quite tricky: I had to pick an artefact from my own home and submit an analysis of it.

ar•te•fact: noun An object made by a human being, typically an item of cultural or historical interest.

Choosing was the hardest part. I toyed with the idea to write about my iPhone. But I quickly came to my senses and realised my tutor probably wouldn’t be too impressed with my gadget analysis.

I didn’t need to look much further than my living room wall in fact, where I proudly display two magnificent Bjorn Wiinblad plates, in all their dainty splendor.


The set forms the “Sol & Maane” (“Sun and Moon”) series, with the Danish designer’s trademark round-faced characters and whimsical botanical scenes.

I won’t bore you with my art history analysis of them, don’t worry. Their loveliness should just speak for itself; it never fails to make me smile.

Wiinblad also produced a series of 12 plates with a similar design -one plate for each month of the year- that I would love to splash out on one day.”Happy-chic” designer Jonathan Adler displays his above his kitchen sink:

from Holly Becker & Joanna Copestick Decorate

I settled for the more modest duo instead; the Buy It Now tag on eBay was simply too enticing. And let’s face it: Wiinblad plates above my sink would simply detract too much from my state-of-the-art tap:

Now Jonathan Adler, I know you’re jealous…

2 thoughts on “Danish gems

Leave a Reply

